top of page

Six Times a Jockey-Less Horse 'Won' the Race

The Preakness ran on Saturday, may have seen the best thing that could have happened to horse racing after the Kentucky Derby debacle two weeks ago. A jockey-less horse became an instant celebrity on social media. Bodexpress will probably be remembered far longer by those watching the race than the eventually winner War of Will. Jockey-less horses happen more often than you would think though. Here are 6 times a horse without a jockey crossed the line in 'first.' Although technically disqualified, it's always fun to watch a free spirit push for victory on its own accord. It's much like trading. You have to be motivated to win with no one riding your ass to perform.

2018: Ruidoso Downs (Fun fact: The 1937 Kentucky Derby Trophy won by War Admiral is usually kept on display at this track)

2016: Belmont Park

2015: Portland Meadows

2013: Belmont Park

2012: Canterbury Park - Owned by Canterbury Park Holding Corp trading as NASDAQ:CPHC

2010: Penn National - Owned by Penn National Gaming trading as NASDAQ:PENN

Five stocks to watch for horse racing fans: Churchill Downs CHDN; Penn National Gaming PENN; Canterbury Park Holding CPHC; Twin Rivers Worldwide TRWH; and Eldorado Resorts ERI.

16 views0 comments
bottom of page